The next time you post something on Facebook that anyone can see, you will be greeted by a small blue blast from the past. A tiny blue dinosaur (article and example from Sophos) now reminds users without privacy settings enabled to read and understand them better before they share information online. The dino addresses the user by name and hopefully will encourage more people to be safer online. This is a much needed step towards privacy and transparency for the social network giant.
The cartoon popup is just a test program but is already receiving great feedback and hopefully it will spur more companies to follow suit by making their user’s privacy a bigger priority. The exact message you will receive is: “You haven’t changed who can see your posts lately, so we just wanted to make sure you’re sharing this post with the right audience. (Your current setting is Public, though you can change this whenever you post.)”. It then gives you different options to limit who can see your post.